MNR’s New Leaders Ready to Tackle Big Issues in 2022

By MNR News posted 01-03-2022 14:44

Minnesota Realtors® (MNR) formally welcomed its 2022 leadership team at the Realtors® UNITE! convention at the St. Cloud River's Edge Convention Center on October 6, 2021. Assuming the role of president from outgoing President T.J. Simon is Jason Miller of Premiere Real Estate in St. Cloud. Treasurer Emily Green of Sandy Green Realty in Minneapolis has been selected president for 2023, and Geri Theis of Scenic City Realty in Redwood Falls will take on the role of treasurer. Terms for the newly elected officers began in January 2022.

Jason Miller: Focus on expanding affordable homes
During his term, President Elect Miller said he will work to expand the supply of affordable homes by advocating at the Capitol and partnering with private and non-profit organizations. He is also committed to helping more first-time buyers into homes by increasing the availability of down-payment assistance programs. “None of these changes happen overnight,” Miller said. “But by doing the legwork and developing these programs today, we’ll be able to bring in a lot more first-time buyers three to five years from now.”

A native of St. Cloud, Miller has served on numerous local boards and committees, including the St. Cloud Area Chamber of Commerce. He was also chair of MNR’s Professional Standards Committee, and in 2014 was honored as Realtor® of the Year by the St. Cloud Area of Realtors®. A tireless advocate for his clients, his areas of expertise includes residential real estate, relocation, foreclosure purchases and sales, and investment properties. Placing great value on continuing education, Miller has earned many certifications and professional designations, including MS, CRS, GRI, e-Pro, CDPE, GREEN, PSA, and C2EX. 

Emily Green: A leader and broker committed to community and the industry
Known for her commitment to clients, community, and the real estate industry, Emily Green will bring over 25 years of experience to her role as MNR president in 2023. As a broker at a woman-owned, Minneapolis agency, she focuses on urban development and investment properties. Green has served on the National Association of Realtors®’ board of directors and was the vice chair of the MNR Communications Committee in 2019. She is a past president of the Minneapolis Area Association of Realtors® and has an MBA from Metropolitan State University’s College of Management. She also served on the state association's Forms Committee, Governmental Affairs Committee, Finance Committee, Executive Committee, Board of Directors, and is a former Chair of the Communications Committee. Additionally, she's an RPAC Trustee and Major Investor. 

Geri Theis: A veteran of many MNR committees
Dedicated and hardworking, Geri Theis was awarded the 2020 MNR Realtor® of the Year, and is actively involved in local, state, and national associations, serves on many committees, and volunteers for community charities. Bringing a wealth of experience to the treasurer post, she has served many roles in the association, including the Realtors® Political Action Committee (RPAC) and the Federal Political Coordinator (FPC) program, and MNR’s Professional Standards, and Governmental Affairs committees. Additionally, she is on the board of directors for both MNR and the West Central Association of Realtors®.